01788 811028


Dr Ilias Basioudis - Chair of Governors
Ilias is senior lecturer of Financial Accounting & Auditing in the Accounting Group at Aston Business School, Aston University and the Chairman of the Auditing Special Interest Group of the British Accounting & Finance Association. He has been a foundation governor since January 2016 and his eldest son is currently attending the school. He was elected as Chair of Governors in July 2017. 

Mrs Lindsey Wright - Foundation Governor (Vice Chair)
Lindsey joined the governing body in June 2017 and is an experienced Chair of Governors. She is Chair of the Resources committee.

Mr Andy Taylor - Head Teacher Governor (Admissions)
Andy joined the governing body in July 2017 as Head Teacher Governor.

Mrs Alison Tildesley - Teacher Governor
Alison was elected Staff Governor in October 2016.

Dr Salvio Chacko - Foundation Governor (Safeguarding, Health and Safety)
Salvio joined the board of governors after being formally appointed in October 2015. He has two children that attend Dunchurch Junior School. 

Mrs Diane Hammond - Foundation Governor (SEND)
Diane is in her second term as a Foundation Governor, having been first appointed in May 2009. Diane’s daughters have all attended Dunchurch Junior School. Diane has been Chair of the Performance & Standards committee since October 2011.

Mrs Valerie Harper - Foundation Governor

Valerie trained to teach at a Teacher Training college, then obtained a degree in Biological Sciences. She was until July 2004 Senior Mistress and Head of Science at Bilton Grange Preparatory School. She was also Head of the Junior Department for 4 years. Her first teaching post, in 1963, was at a girls Grammar school in Tonbridge where she taught sciences to O Level and biology to A Level. After 5 years out to have children, she returned to teaching and in subsequent schools, including a Technical College, she has taught science at all levels and mathematics to Key Stage 2 and 3. She has had strong involvement in pastoral care in each school and has been enthusiastic about the promotion of environmental activities. Valerie trained as an Inspector for the Independent sector and has been on inspection teams in 12 schools. This training and work is Ofsted regulated and monitored. She has also marked Key Stage 2 science when it was part of SATS. Valerie served as a Community Governor at Bilton Junior School for 10 years, on various committees, and for the last three years as Vice Chair. She attended many training courses and was involved in the appointment of two Head teachers during that time. As a committed Christian, Valerie has always been active in her local church in various capacities, not least as a clergy wife! Her husband was, until 2002, Rector of St Mark's Church in Bilton.   

Mrs Celia Jones - Foundation Governor

Dr Sarah Major - Parent Governor 
Sarah joined the governing body in July 2013. She has one child at Dunchurch Junior School.

Mr Jonathan Marlow - Parent Governor

Jonathan joined the governing body in November 2017. Jonathan lives in Cawston and runs his own consultancy business. He has four children, one of whom currently attends Dunchurch Junior School, with another in nursery at Dunchurch Infant School.

Rev. Patricia Townshend - Ex-Officio Foundation Governor

Mrs Jane Chan - Clerk to Governors

Previous Governors

Mr John Bennett  (Chair of Governors)

Mr Andy Wardle (Headteacher Governor). Mr Wardle was Head Teacher Governor between 2004 and 2017.

Mrs Yvette Grogan - Local Authority Governor
Yvette was elected Parent Governor in March 2012. Her daughter has recently moved on to secondary school.

Mrs Wendie Aspinwall - Foundation Governor (Admissions, Attendance, Training)
Wendie joined the governing body initially as Staff Governor in October 2009, and became a Foundation Governor in July 2013. Her daughter attended Dunchuch Junior School.

Mrs Lorna Garthwaite (Parent Governor). Lorna was elected as Parent Governor in July 2015. Her eldest child is at secondary school, having attended Dunchurch Junior School.  She has another child in who attends Dunchurch Junior School and a child in Year 1 who attends Dunchurch Infant School.

Mr Barry Smith (Vice Chair)


Please address any correspondence to the school.


Click here to read the school's Instrument of Government.


Minutes of Governors meetings are available on request.